What is the Coral Triangle?

Map of the Coral Triangle


[map from Ecology.com]

We’ve mentioned a few times on this blog the Coral Triangle, and if you’ve sailed on Dunia Baru then you’ve even spent time in and explored the Coral Triangle… but what exactly is it?

The Coral Triangle is a marine area of exceptional biodiversity, and a staggering number of corals – more than 600 – and is home to six of the world’s seven species of turtles, as well as more than 2000 species of fish (including the biggest and the oldest – the whaleshark and coelacanth). It covers an area more than half the size of the United States and includes the waters of Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Timor Leste, Papua New Guinea and the Solomon Islands.

We feel particularly privileged to host our guests in the waters of the Coral Triangle, where  they get to witness such beauty when they dive and snorkel. Take a look at the photos below, taken by Leah and Chris around the Coral Triangle, and you’ll see what we mean…


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s